About the Kleinstuck Preserve

The Kleinstuck Preserve is owned and managed by Western Michigan University. Following the Land Management Plan for Kleinstuck Preserve, WMU has been clearing a wet meadow for the past three years which has been inundated by invasive shrubs such as Glossy and European Buckthorn. The cut shrubs have been placed in piles in the wet meadow of the preserve as they have been cut.

WMU has received direction from Kalamazoo City Fire Marshal Williams on how to burn these piles to remove them from the area. This burn will take place while the ground is wet during the spring season to ensure safety. Following are details related to the brush pile burn that will take place in the preserve.


Western Michigan University, working in cooperation with the City of Kalamazoo Fire Marshal’s Office will contact the fire department the day of the burn to receive a permit if conditions are deemed appropriate. Burn crew personnel will be available by cell phone throughout the burn.


Over a series of weeks up to 15 brush piles will be burned. Fire safety will be the highest priority. Efforts will be made to burn during weather conditions that will produce as little smoke as possible drifting towards homes. If excessive smoke occurs, the piles will be extinguished.

Our Management Plan

This management plan was drafted with support from the WMU Natural Areas Program, Nate Fuller (Stewardship Director of the Southwest Michigan Land Conservancy), the Stewards of Kleinstuck Management Committee and other ecologically savvy community members.

Please check it out!
2018 Land Management Plan with text, photos and maps (PDF)

Management Actions by season (PDF)

Controlled Burn


While weather conditions are appropriate and approval is granted by the City of Kalamazoo Fire Marshal. It is expected that this will be during a window of time between mid-April to mid-May.


In Kleinstuck Preserve at a wet meadow located inside the main loop trail and at the southeastern edge of the marsh. See attached map.


Until relatively recently, this area was a large wet meadow hosting a variety of native plant and animal life and offering scenic beauty to the users of the preserve. Over the past several years, it has been inundated with a few exotic invasive species, particularly Glossy Buckthorn, compromising both the visual beauty of the area and the quality and diversity of plant and animal life.

The wet meadow was reduced to less than an acre in size, but restoration efforts have expanded it significantly. The open area will be even larger once the piles are removed, creating better habitat and a vista into the meadow.